Garlic Rosemary Focaccia Bread


If you have never tried focaccia bread, you should definitely give it a try, it is so easy that my 9 year old made it with very little help from me!

This Italian flat bread from wanderzest has a crisp outside & a fluffy center, perfect for dipping in olive oil or balsamic vinegar or making sandwiches or even using as a base for pizza.

The dimples that you put into the bread will create a better texture and help bake the bread faster and more evenly—and they’ll also keep the toppings from rolling off the bread.

There are so many fantastic tools that can be used for making this bread. I will list just a couple.

Everyone needs a good set of mixing bowls. I have had this set for over 11 years now & it is still going strong. My favourite bowls by far!
A good stone pan is the perfect vessel to cook this focaccia bread

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Olive Oil
  • 2 cloves Garlic – minced
  • 1 tsp Thyme
  • 1 tsp Rosemary
  • 1/4 tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 cup warm Water
  • 2 1/4 tsp Active Dry Yeast
  • 1/4 tsp Honey
  • 2 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil

Instructions:

On a low heat, in a medium frying pan, add olive oil, garlic, thyme, rosemary & pepper, stirring often for 5-10 minutes. Set aside

In a large mixing bowl, add the water, yeast & honey. Allow the yeast to activate & bubble (5-10 minutes) Add in 1 cup of the flour & 1/4 cup of the olive oil mixture. Stir until it is just combined & let it rest for 5 minutes

Mix in the remaining flour & the salt. Knead dough until smooth on a floured surface, then place in a greased bowl & cover with a damp towel. Allow it to rise for 1 hour, or until doubled in size.

Preheat oven to 400°F & pour 2 tbsp olive oil into the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan, or 2 smaller pans

Place the dough into the pan & stretch it out so that it covers the bottom completely. Using the tips of your fingers, indent the surface of the dough several times, then brush the remaining oil onto the top of the dough

Allow to rest for another 20 minutes. Cake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 children, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen. In 2018 I started my journey with Pampered Chef & have been loving the great products I have been able to add to my kitchen so far. Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment