Toad in the Hole


I am revisiting some of my past posts with new pictures & instructions, so check this one out!

So many people do a double take when I say we are having Toad in the Hole for dinner, did I capture your attention? You may be asking, what on earth is toad in the hole!

Toad in the hole is an amazingly delicious, traditional English dish which consists of sausages in a yorkshire pudding batter served with vegetables & an onion gravy. (We do a beef gravy usually)

I have perfected this recipe, however, the dish it is baked in does affect how well it puffs up! Cast iron & glass dishes work really well in my experience.

When it comes down to it, I love using cast iron for this dish as it stays hot & cooks so evenly. My favourite pans by far are these individual (5.5″) pans

Pampered Chef – 5.5″ (14-CM) CAST IRON SKILLET SET

I love eating peas with this dish, what would you eat with it?

RECIPE

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup Milk (any variety should work. I have only ever used cows milk)
  • 1 cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 3 large Eggs
  • 1 pinch Salt
  • 4 Sausages (we like to use mild Italian)

Method:

Preheat the oven to 500° F. Once ready put oil in a 7×11″ ovenproof pan & put it in the oven to heat up just above the middle of the oven.

Blend the flour, eggs & milk & salt together in a blender & place in the fridge to stay cold. While it is chilling, cook the sausages until evenly browned.

When everything is ready, check the oil to see if it is hot enough. I put a few drops of water on my fingertips & flick it into the oil. If the oil spits, then it is ready.

Remove the blender from the fridge & blend again quickly to allow air into the batter

Remove the pan from the oven & QUICKLY  pour the batter in the pan & put the sausages over the top. Replace in the oven & cook for 25-30 minutes (or until batter is golden brown & puffed up)

DO NOT open the oven while it is cooking

Serve Immediately once ready

Sausage in yorkshire pudding batter on a plate with mashed potatoes, peas & gravy
Toad in the Hole

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 children, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen. In 2018 I started my journey with Pampered Chef & have been loving the great products I have been able to add to my kitchen so far. Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment