A New Life & Good Food – Alicha Doro


New job, new home, new city & lots of new ideas for some great food!

My husband got a new job in March & just completed his initial training. We got relocated to Yellowknife in the Northwest Territories & arrived mid July. We are just settling into our new home (much larger than our 2 bedroom apartment I might add) & I am looking forward to using my larger kitchen to prepare some delectably new dishes.

Yesterday we tried out Ethiopian food. I found this dish, Alicha Doro & thought it would be a good one to start with. I wanted to make injera (a dark, sourdough, pancake) to serve with it, but couldn’t find tef flour here in Yellowknife, so I just served it with rice.

Serves: 2          Calories: 382/serving

  • 4 Chicken Thighs or 2 Chicken Legs
  • 1/2 Lemon
  • 4 Onions
  • 8 cloves Garlic
  • 2 tbsp Oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp Turmeric
  • 2 tsp Salt

Remove any skin from the chicken & discard it. Place the chicken in a bowl & squeeze the lemon juice over the top. Cover & refrigerate until needed. (If you want a deeper lemon taste allow it to sit overnight)

Peel & roughly chop the garlic & onions & pulse them into a puree using a food processor, take care that you don’t do it too long or you could get onion juice

In a large skillet, with a lid, over a gentle heat, cook the garlic & onions with the oil. This could take anywhere between 10-30 minutes. The puree should stay the same colour. Add some water to the pan if you find it becomes very dry

Add the turmeric & cook for another couple of minutes before adding the chicken & enough water to cover them. Cover & simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally to ensure nothing sticks

When the chicken is cooked, simmer for a little longer if the sauce is still very thin. Add the salt & serve

Ethiopian

 

 

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, From Around the World, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

