Rice Pudding


If you had to leave your home country, what food would you miss?

I have a list, although some of it I can make here in Canada, it just isn’t quite the same

At the end of May I get to go home for 7 weeks. I am so excited! Some of the food I am looking forward to is:

  • My Mum’s Rice & Meatballs (unfortunately you can’t get Oxtail Soup here)
  • Fish & Chips (especially eating it at the beach)Fish_and_chips
  • My Mum’s Bacon Macaroni Cheese (it is sooooo yummy)
  • Indian Curry (the restaurants here are just not the same) – My favourite restaurant back home is The Village Tandoori, Emma GreenThe Village Tandoori
  • Cornish PastiesCornish Pasty
  • Pork Piespork-pie
  • My Mum’s Strawberry Trifle
  • Fish Fingers (without the minced fish, but real bits of fish)Fish Fingers
  • Lion Chocolate BarsLion-Bar-Wrapper-Small

Let’s get on with this recipe instead of me reminiscing! I love this stuff, & definitely miss Ambrosia Rice Pudding, but this recipe is almost as good 🙂 I am actually eating a bowl of it while writing this post

Serves: 6                    Calories: 224

  • 900ml Whole Milk
  • 4 tbsp White Sugar
  • 6 tbsp Medium Grain Rice
  • 1 cup Evaporated Milk

In a medium saucepan, bring to a gentle simmer the whole milk, sugar & rice

Stir well to prevent the rice from sticking to the pan

Partially cover with a lid & gently simmer over a low heat for 45 minutes, stirring occasionally to prevent the rice from sticking to bottom of the saucepan

Stir in the evaporated milk & return to the heat for 15 minutes

Remove from heat & allow to cool slightly before serving

I like to serve mine with a little dollop of jam in the middle

Rice Pudding

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Desserts, Gluten-Free and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

