Box Mixes CAN Make Delicious Cakes


I am not one to use box mixes, I find that the cakes are very crumbly & don’t turn out very well at all, but I found some pins on Pinterest that say how to make them taste as though the cakes have been made from scratch

I asked the kids what type of cake they wanted for their birthday party & they chose the Duncan Hines Fudge Marble box mixDuncan Hines Fudge MarbleI am not going to pretend that I was initially happy with the choice, but it turned out wonderfully with just a little tweaking!

  • Add an additional egg to what it says on the box to add, add 2 if you want it extra rich
  • Use melted butter & double the amount instead of oil
  • Use milk instead of water

The cake turned out really well, I was quite surprised with the results (I know we are missing a ring of red, but we ran out of red fondant 😦 )

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The kids had so much fun at the party, in fact we had 2 parties, one in the morning for friends & one in the afternoon for family. We played lots of fun games, pass the parcel, what’s the time Mr Hulk, Hawkeye shooting practice & lots of superhero colouring

Here are some pictures from the day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Superheroes at the Ready

Captain America, the 1st Avenger

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Crafts, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

