Freezer Meal Novice?


Are you a freezer meal novice? Do you have any idea what you can & can’t freeze? Well, here is a little guide I made for you!

Potatoes: I have recently discovered that if you partially cook potatoes that you want to put in stews/soups then they won’t go black & rot, but will stay fine throughout the freezing/cooking process

Buttermilk/Cream: I freeze these regularly in 1 cup portions. There is one very important thing to note, do not try to whip the cream until it is COMPLETELY thawed in the refrigerator or it will be a disaster!

Freezing Cream & Buttermilk

Celery: I never use a whole stalk of celery at a time & so when I have used what I need I thinly slice 2 sticks at a time & put them into freezer bags. I then use them when I make Spaghetti Bolognaise

Diced Tomatoes: I always buy the biggest cans of diced tomatoes & so, as sometimes I do not need a full can I bag & freeze the remaining tomatoes to use in other dishes

Pasta Sauce: This is something that I use very rarely, but when I do I never need a whole can. As with diced tomatoes, I bag & freeze the remaining to be used at a later time

Fresh Berries: These are very easy to freeze & can either be thawed & eaten or used in Fruit Crumbles, smoothies & baking. One tip, buy in season when they are cheaper & freeze for when they are more expensive

Meat: All meat, cooked or raw can be frozen. ensure that you package the meat properly in freezer bags & remove as much air as possible from each bag before putting in the freezer

Fresh Herbs: Do you buy fresh herbs to just have them go to waste because you don’t use them all? All you need to do is freeze them in ice cube trays with olive oil & when frozen, but them in a freezer bag to be used at a later date. Of course they are not as good as fresh herbs, but the next best thing!

P.S. I will keep adding to this post as I think of things!

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Freezer Meals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

