Blueberry Banana Bread


This week I decided that I wanted to empty my freezer of bananas…..what a feat that was……& I still found a bag of frozen bananas that I had missed!

My first efforts gave a yield of 11 loaves of bread, 4 large ones & then 7 mini loaves of just regular banana bread

This morning I found 3 very over ripe bananas on my counter & so decided to try out this recipe for Blueberry Banana Bread that I found on Pinterest

Serves: 8                    Calories: 264

  • 2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup Apple Sauce
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 2 large ripe/over ripe Bananas – mashed
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups Blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C/Gas Mark 4 & grease a 9 x 5 loaf tin – I used 4 mini ones

In a large bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda & cinnamon

In a small bowl, mix together the apple sauce & brown sugar until thoroughly combined

Mix together the bananas, eggs & vanilla & then add the blueberries

Put all the ingredients into the large bowl with the flour mixture & stir until all ingredients become wet

Pour into your prepared pan(s) & bake for 60-70 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean (mine only took 50 minutes)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On a side note, yesterday was James’ birthday & I made him a really delicious meal of crab legs, bacon wrapped filet mignon, asparagus & roast potatoes. Our kids seem to have expensive food taste – they LOVE crab & Rhys would have eaten all the asparagus if I had given him half a chance!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Desserts, Fruits, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry Banana Bread

  1. The Editor says:

    Reblogged this on Recipe Reblog.

Leave a Reply

