Scottish Shortbread


Tomorrow, upon request from my 4 year old, we will be having a British feast. We are having Leek & Potato Soup (from Wales), Toad in the Hole (from England) & Shortbread (from Scotland)!

This morning I decided that I should start with the meal prep by making the shortbread. Although I have never made this before it went very well (especially as I now have a stand mixer on loan to me for a year while our friends are in England!)

I did have to leave it in the oven longer than stated as it hadn’t turned pale brown, but once they were out of the oven they tasted delicious 🙂

NOTE: When baking it is best to weigh out your ingredients as some ingredients are heavier than others. It is also more accurate & will provide you with a more consistent bake

Serves: 28                    Calories: 107

  • 225g Butter
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 110g Caster Sugar
  • 225g All-Purpose Flour
  • 100g Corn Flour

Preheat oven to 325°F/170°C/Gas Mark 3

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, salt & sugar until light & fluffy & pale in colour

Mix together the 2 flours & sieve them into the bowl of butter & sugar

Mix quickly & thoroughly to bring the ingredients together. DO NOT OVERMIX

Tip mixture onto a lightly floured surface & knead lightly & quickly to form a dough

Roll out between to sheets of parchment to 1/4″ thick, prick the surface with a fork & cut into desired shapes

Bake on a lightly greased baking sheet for 25 minutes or until pale brown & crisp

Sprinkle with fine sugar & cool on rack

Store in an airtight container

Scottish Shortbread

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Desserts, Quick & Easy, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

