Mexican Tortilla Soup


Last Thursday we had a freezer meal swap, & this is the dish I ended up with. I tried it last night & really enjoyed it (although I totally forgot to add the chicken stock in hahaha)

Serves: 4                    Calories: 356

  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Onion – chopped
  • 2 cloves Garlic – minced
  • 1 Jalapeno – seeded & diced
  • 2 tsp Cumin
  • 1 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1 (28oz) can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 lb Chicken Breast
  • 2 cups Chicken Stock

Garnish:

  • Tortilla Chips
  • Lime Juice
  • Cilantro

Place all ingredients, except the garnish in a large freezer bag & freeze until needed

Thaw overnight & place in slow cooker in the morning. Cook on low for 6-8 hours

Remove chicken, shred & return to the slow cooker

Ladle into bowls & garnish with lime juice, cilantro & tortilla chips

Mexican Tortilla Soup

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Freezer Meals, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes, Slow Cooker Meals, Soups, Under 400 Calories and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

