Cooking Beetroot


This year I grew beetroot in my garden but had never cooked it before. I read online lots of different ways of cooking beetroot, but was not satisfied with what I found. I was talking to the gardener at the condominiums we live in & she told me how she cooks hers

I followed her method & the result was wonderful. As a result I now have a tub full of freshly cooked beetroot 🙂

  • Fresh Beetroot

In a large pot of cold water, place the freshly pulled beetroot with tops cut off, leaving 1/2″ at the top, ensuring the water covers the top of the beetroot

Cooking Beetroot

Simmer the pot of beetroot for 40 minutes or so, until the beetroot is cooked through. In order to check for doneness spear them with a fork

Drain the water from the pot & run the cold water tap over the beetroot. Gently pull the skins & tops off the beetroot (it will come off really easily)

Cooking Beetroot 1

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tips, Side Dishes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

