French Bread


I am not a bread maker, in fact I am possibly the worst maker of bread in the history of mankind! Even growing up, whenever my mum would ask me to put the ingredients in the breadmaker it turned out to be a disaster. I can safely say that I have never actually made a loaf of bread that turned out to be good

Today I decided, after finding this French bread recipe from Robin on Pinterest that I would try again. The first part of it has worked well so far, but now it is in the oven….. We now have to wait for it to be done to see the final results………….

Well, apart from being a little too dense & not crusty on the outside it was good bread. It went really well with my leek & potato soup, but I will next time let it rise a little more & glaze it with egg or oil to crust it up

  • 2 1/2 cups Warm Water
  • 2 tbsp Yeast
  • 2 tbsp Sugar
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 3 tbsp Oil
  • 5 1/2 – 6 cups Flour

Measure out the water in a medium bowl & add the yeast & sugar to it. Set aside for 5 minutes or so, until you see the yeast bubbling on top

Stir in the salt, oil & flour until combined

Knead for a few minutes, until the dough is smooth & pulls away from the bowl

Cover the bowl with a warm, damp tea towel & let the dough sit for 15 minutes to rise. To help it rise a lot faster you can heat a bowl of water in the microwave for 2 minutes. Take out the bowl of water & replace it with the bowl of dough. Close the door & allow it to rise for 15 minutes

Once risen, divide the dough into 2 long loaves, tucking in the ends. Place both loaves side by side on a greased cookie sheet

With a sharp knife, slash the tops of each loaf diagonally

Set the loaves aside while the oven heats to 375°F/190°C/Gas Mark 5 & bake for 30-35 minutes until golden brown

OPTIONAL: For an extra crunchy crust, mix together one egg white with 1 T. cold water and brush on cooked bread and cook for another 3 minutes

French Bread

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Bread, Quick & Easy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

