Homemade Granola Bars


These are so easy & quick, 30 minutes max to make them & you don’t need to turn on your oven! They have no artificial anything in them & they are pretty filling. You can also add different toppings & fillings according to your own preference

Here is Anwyn enjoying her first one

Homemade Granola Bars

Serves: 18 bars

  • 2 cups Quick Cook Oats
  • 1 cup Rice Krispies
  • 1/4 cup Shredded Coconut
  • 1/4 cup Butter
  • 1/4 cup Honey
  • 1/2 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • 2 tbsp Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 cup Mini Chocolate Chips

In a large bowl, mix together the oats, Rice Krispies & coconut

Over a medium-high heat melt the butter in a small saucepan. Add the honey, brown sugar & salt & stir together

Leave alone as the mixture comes to a boil. Once it is boiling all around the edge of the pan, begin timing for 2 minutes 15 seconds. Ensure it continues to boil for the whole  time

Add the peanut butter to the finished honey mixture & pour it over the oat mixture

Mix together until the oats are completely covered & allow to cool slightly

Lightly grease a 7 x 11 pan

Add 1/2 cup chocolate chips to the mixture & stir until combined

Press into the greased pan & refrigerate for 20 minutes before cutting into bars

Homemade Granola Bars 1

After coming home from our week away I found my garden had grown immensely. My potatoes were all ready to be dug up & I have so many tomatoes & zucchini growing already

Here are my potatoes from my dig in the garden today

Freshly Dug Potatoes

UPDATE: 07/08/2013 – I worked out the cost to make these per granola bar & was very pleasantly surprised that they only cost about $0.04 each as opposed to the $0.33 per bar for the cheap ones you can buy! Give them a try today & you will love them

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Quick & Easy, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

