Margaret & Val’s Pavlova


Never heard of pavlova? No idea of what it is? Well, it is a meringue based dessert created in New Zealand for, & named after, the famous Russian ballerina, Anna Pavlova

This recipe came from two wonderful ladies, Margaret Ambrose & Val Hobby. I have now made this twice & I can see that I need much more practice at this art form! I made this for our guests last night & it was most definitely a hit

Serves: 8

  • 4 large Eggs – separated
  • 250g (8oz) Caster Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Vinegar

Make sure egg whites are at room temperature before putting them into a clean dry bowl

Whisk them adding sugar GRADUALLY as you go until the mixture is very thick & glossy & stands in peaks

Beat in the vanilla & vinegar

Spoon mixture onto an 8″ diameter greased and wetted baking tray (sprinkle water over the baking tray)

Bake at 225°F/110°C/Gas Mark 1/4 for 1 hour

Then turn off the heat & leave pavlova in the oven until cold

Just before serving, top with whipped cream & fresh fruit

Pavlova

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Desserts, From Around the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

