Sesame Chicken


I found this recipe on Pinterest as a slow cooker recipe, but as I do not enjoy the texture of chicken cooked in the slow cooker I thought I would take the idea & the quantities & turn it into something for the skillet/saucepan

Serves: 8

  • 1/2 cup Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Soy Sauce (gluten-free if needed)
  • 1 cup Water
  • 1/4 cup Cornstarch
  • 1 tsp Ground Ginger
  • 1-2 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
  • 2 tbsp Sesame Seeds – toasted
  • 2 cloves Garlic – minced
  • 6 Chicken Breasts – cubed
  • 1 cup Corn Flour

Mix the first 9 ingredients together & place in a large saucepan or skillet

Add the corn flour & chicken pieces to a large re-sealable bag & massage around to ensure the chicken is coated

(You can, if you wish, freeze the chicken & sauce in separate bags. Thaw for 24 hours in the fridge. Add to slow cooker with 1/2 – 1 cup water. Cook on low for 4-5 hours)

In a large skillet, heat 2-3 tbsp oil & cook the chicken. Add the cooked chicken to the sauce & turn the heat on medium-low

Once the sauce has thickened, serve over hot rice with a side of steamed broccoli

Sesame Chicken

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Freezer Meals, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes, Quick & Easy, Slow Cooker Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

