Mexican Night – Tortillas & Salsa


This evening we had the Missionaries over for dinner, as we do every month, & they requested that we have Mexican for dinner (as I always ask what country they want to eat from)

My husband said that he would cook, so I thought that I would be able to have the night off. I made a fresh tomato salsa & guacamole, but then as he was going to be late home from work I ended up having to make the tortillas & the rice!

Unfortunately tonight I have NO pictures at all. I couldn’t find my camera anywhere, but I will be making the salsa & tortillas again, so it is not really a big deal

I made corn tortillas using masa harina from Argyll Foods Tienda Latina, Edmonton

Add the salt & masa harina to a medium bowl & mix together

Slowly add the water, mixing with your hands until the dough is soft & pliable

Divide into 24 balls of equal size

Using a tortilla press, press each ball of dough between 2 pieces of parchment paper until flattened & as large as you want it

Cook on a griddle for a few minutes each side

The salsa was delicious, so much better than the stuff you buy. I am not a fan of salsa, but this was delicious

  • 6-8 Roma Tomatoes – seeded
  • 1/4 Red Onion – finely chopped
  • 2 cloves Garlic – minced
  • 1 handful Cilantro – chopped
  • 2 tbsp. Lime Juice
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Cumin

In a medium bowl, mix together all ingredients, cover & chill for a couple of hours to allow the flavours to meld

Tomato Salsa

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Bread, Condiments, From Around the World, Gluten-Free, Quick & Easy, Side Dishes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

