Jamaican Jerk Chicken


So, I had a recipe I was supposed to be following for this dish, but it so happened that I totally forgot to look at what I was supposed to put in the marinade, but it was totally fine in the end

Next time that I make this I will use the recipe on Carribean Pot. Unfortunately I didn’t have the time to make everything from scratch like they did, but next time I will plan it rather than have a mad dash to get the dinner ready for our guests!

  • 6 Chicken Legs – with back attached
  • 1/4 cup Vinegar
  • 1/3 cup Jerk Seasoning
  • 1/8 cup White Vinegar
  • 1/4 cup Orange Juice
  • 1/2 cup Soy Sauce

Combine the seasoning, white vinegar, soy sauce & orange juice in a large resealable bag & set aside

Trim any excess skin & fat from the chicken legs & pour the vinegar over them. Rinse with cool water & drain

With a sharp knife or a fork, pierce the chicken pieces (this is allowing the marinade to penetrate the meat)

Put the meat into the marinade & place in the fridge for at least 2 hours

Take the meat from the fridge & preheat the oven to 375°F/190°C/Gas Mark 5

Place the meat & marinade into an oven proof dish & bake for 1 hour 20 minutes & broil for a few minutes after that

Jerk Chicken with Rice & Peas

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, From Around the World, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

