Oxtail Soup


Thank you Gordon Ramsey for your delicious recipe, although next time I will be making some changes! (I will put my changes in my recipe below)

I have been without oxtail soup for 6 years now, what a travesty that is! It is now all fixed & I am excited for dinner. I have never had fresh oxtail soup, but from just the little tastes I have had whilst making it, I think I can safely say I am in for a treat tonight

This does take a long time to cook, but most of that is just it simmering on the stove, not much ‘donkey’ work!

Oxtail 1

Serves: 4

  • 1 1/4 kg Oxtail – jointed (means cut into pieces to look like the picture above)
  • 4 tbsp Plain Flour – divided
  • 2-3 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 large Carrot – diced
  • 1 Turnip – peeled & diced
  • 1 Celery Stalk – chopped
  • 1 large Onion – diced
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • A few Sprigs Thyme
  • 1 tsp Black Peppercorns
  • 2 tsp Tomato Puree
  • 300 ml Red Wine (I don`t cook with wine so I substitute, here is a good website for substitutes)
  • 1.2 ltr Beef Stock
  • 2 tbsp Butter – softened

Trim off the excess fat from the oxtail pieces

In a shallow bowl, mix 2 tbsp of the flour with salt & pepper

Heat half the oil in a large, heavy-based pan until hot

Coat the oxtail with the seasoned flour, shaking off any excess flour & fry for 2 – 2 1/2 minutes on each side until evenly browned. Remove from the pan & set aside

Add the remaining oil to the pan along with the chopped vegetables, herbs & peppercorns

Cook for 4-5 minutes until the vegetables begin to soften

Stir in the tomato puree & remaining seasoned flour, adding a little more oil if necessary, stirring frequently for another 1-2 minutes

Pour in the red wine substitute & scrape the base of the pan to dislodge any burnt on bits & boil for a few minutes

Return the oxtail to the pan & pour the stock in to cover, bring to a simmer & skim off the scum that rises to the top

Partially cover the pan & simmer gently for 3 hours, until the oxtail becomes very tender & comes off the bone easily

Carefully move the oxtail pieces to a large bowl & leave to cool

Strain the vegetables, thyme & peppercorns from the rest of the liquid & remove the bay leaf. Do not discard the vegetables, but discard the herbs & peppercorns

Pull the meat from the oxtail & shred into small pieces

To thicken the stock, mix the remaining 2 tbsp flour with butter, then whisk a little at a time into the simmering stock

Simmer for 5 minutes, taste & adjust the seasoning, then add the vegetables & shredded meat back to the pan & warm through

Oxtail Soup

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in From Around the World, Main Dishes, Soups and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

