Chicken Taco Salad


I found a picture of this on Pinterest & it looked delicious but I couldn’t find a list of ingredients anywhere. I eventually found a recipe, but adapted it a little

It was delicious. I served it in tortilla bowls instead of with tortilla chips, but it was just as delicious, if not more delicious. It is also healthy, which is an added bonus for me in my efforts to lose weight. My goal is to lose 14 lbs by May, just under 10 lbs to go!

This dish serves 6

  • 3 Chicken Breasts – cooked & shredded
  • 1 Bell Pepper – chopped
  • 1 can Black Beans – rinsed
  • 1 1/2 cups Grilled Sweetcorn
  • 2 small Tomatoes – diced
  • 4 Spring Onions – chopped
  • 1 head Lettuce – chopped
  • 1/4 cup Cilantro – chopped
  • 2 ripe Avocadoes – diced
  • 1/4 cup Light Mayonnaise
  • 1 cup Greek Yoghurt
  • 1 tbsp Ranch Seasoning (check for gluten-free if needed)
  • 1 tbsp Taco Seasoning (check for gluten-free if needed)

In a large bowl, combine all the salad ingredients

In a small bowl, mix all the dressing ingredients together & pour it over the salad to taste

Top with crushed tortilla chips

NOTE: To grill the corn take a baking tray & 1 1/2 cups of frozen corn. Spread the corn across the tray, drizzle with olive oil & salt & pepper. Broil on high for 5 minutes & voila!

Chicken Taco Salad in Tortilla Bowl

UPDATE: 25 March 2013 – This is so delicious that I made it again for dinner tonight!

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes, Salads and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

