Old Fashioned Pull-Apart Buns


Happy St David’s Day……although I am a couple of days late posting this we did celebrate with Leek & Potato soup & these delicious buns. Although I am not Welsh myself, my grandfather was & we have named our children both Welsh names, Rhys & Anwyn.

I will have to perfect my division of the dough into balls of equal size, but the kids loved having the mini buns!

  • 3 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 2 tsp Active Dry Yeast
  • 3 tbsp Non-Fat Milk Powder
  • 2 tbsp Sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 cup Butter – softened
  • 2/3 cup Water – lukewarm
  • 1/2 cup Milk – lukewarm
  • Melted Butter – for brushing on top

In a large bowl combine all the ingredients, apart from the melted butter, & stir until you have a soft dough

Knead, using your hands, a stand mixer or bread machine, until you have a soft, smooth dough

Set the dough in an oiled bowl, cover with a tea towel & let it rise for an hour or so, until doubled in size

Gently deflate the dough by knocking it down with your hands & transfer it to a lightly floured work surface

Divide into 16 equal pieces & round into smooth balls

Grease a pan & arrange the buns in the pan about 1 1/2″ apart, cover with a tea towel & allow to rise for another hour or so, until they are crowded together & puffy

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C/Gas Mark 4

Uncover buns & bake for 22-24 minutes, until golden brown on top & the edges of the buns bounce back when lightly pressed

Remove from the oven & brush with melted butter. Serve warm

Old Fashioned Pull-Apart Buns

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Bread, Side Dishes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old Fashioned Pull-Apart Buns

  1. ginapoet says:

    Fun! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

