Birthday Cake – Pirate Party


I know it has taken me a long time to get this blog up, but I am so behind on my posts & with 2 birthdays, a party & a wedding in February, things were pretty busy to say the least

This was something that I have never before attempted, but worked out well. I have a good friend who does cakes, she has never done a pirate ship before, but knew what she was doing enough it give me directions as to what to do

She gave me her chocolate cake recipe that makes a nice tasting & dense cake, good enough for sculpting

I am enclosing the recipe for a 7″ square or 8″ round pan. I do have the recipe for sizes up to a 12″ square pan if you would like it. I am enclosing the recipe in grams to make the measurements more accurate. I find with baking that it is so much better to weigh the ingredients than to measure in cups

  • 190g Butter
  • 190g Chocolate
  • 4 tsp Caro (Instant Coffee can be used)
  • 140 ml Water
  • 110g Self Raising Flour
  • 110g Plain Flour
  • 40g Cocoa Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 420g Caster Sugar
  • 3 Eggs – beaten
  • 6 tsp Vegetable Oil
  • 95 ml Buttermilk

Preheat oven to 315°F/155°C, grease & line your tin with parchment paper

In a medium saucepan & over a low heat, melt the chocolate, butter, caro & water, stirring frequently. Once melted, remove from the heat

Sift the flours, cocoa & baking soda into a large mixing bowl

Stir in the sugar & make a well in the centre

Add the eggs, oil, buttermilk & chocolate mixture, stirring with a large spoon, until completely combined

Pour the mixture into the  tin & bake for 1 hr 40 mins, or until a skewer comes out clean

Leave the cake in the tin until cold

Store the cake in an airtight container in the fridge for 3 weeks, or in the freezer for 2 months

I used the recipe for the 8″ pan & doubled it as I used a 16×16″ pan.

Once the cake has cooled & has been turned out of the pan, cut it in half (I did 4 layers, so made 2 pans of cake

Using a chocolate buttercream icing as the glue, stick the layers on top of each other. The buttercream icing recipe I used is here.

I then leveled the cake off on the top using a bread knife, & then scored the cake & cut it into the shape that I wanted

Cake 1

I then spread the chocolate buttercream over the entire cake as smooth as possible & started to decorate it (before icing, ensure that as many of the cake crumbs as possible have been removed from the board or they will get stuck in the icing & it won’t get smooth)

To decorate, we used curly wurlys & chocolate fingers for the railings, an icing covered graham cracker for the plank, rolos for the port holes/cannons & dowling for the masts

Cake 3

The base was a blue buttercream icing for the sea & a white buttercream icing sprinkled with golden sugar for the island

Birthday Cake 2013

The final product at the birthday party:

At The Party

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

