Egg Foo Yong


I love Egg Foo Yong, I would always get this from the Chinese takeaway back in England & so decided to make it for a trial to see if it would turn out as well as I remember having it.

It was fantastic! I love it! The kids didn’t like it quite as much as me, but I thought it was delicious

I served it with chinese dumplings, which both kids love & Rhys wants them for his birthday dinner!

  • 2 tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 cup Bean Sprouts
  • 1/2 cup Pork – cooked & chopped
  • 2 tbsp Onion – minced
  • 1 tbsp Soy Sauce (check for gluten-free if needed)
  • 1 tbsp Cornstarch
  • 1 tsp Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vinegar
  • 2 1/2 tbsp Soy Sauce (check for gluten-free if needed)
  • 1/2 cup Water

In a large skillet, heat oil over a medium heat

In a medium bowl, beat the eggs, then add the bean sprouts, pork, onion & 1 tbsp soy sauce

Pour 1/4 cup of mixture into the skillet, using a spatular, flip the cooked egg on top of the pork to create a patty

Flip to brown on the other side

Repeat 1/4 cup at a time until all the mixture is done

Cool, wrap & place in the freezer

On serving day, remove the Egg Foo Yong from the freezer (do not defrost first) & heat uncovered over a  medium heat until heated through, about 15 minutes

While heating, make the sauce by mixing cornstarch, sugar, vinegar, 2 1/2 tbsp soy sauce & water in a medium saucepan

Heat over a medium heat, until mixture thickens & begins to boil

Be sure to stir constantly to prevent burning or uneven consistency

Allow to boil, while stirring, for one minute

Egg Foo Yong & Dumplings

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Freezer Meals, From Around the World, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes, Quick & Easy, Side Dishes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

