Chicken Thighs in Red Wine Vinegar Sauce


This week I have a few dishes that I am excited about making & trying. This is the first one that I tried, & oh my it was delicious! I decided to serve it with mashed potatoes & baked broccoli as I know the kids love them. Anwyn loved the chicken too, but Rhys isn’t a big fan of meat

This is a good recipe for anyone trying to lose weight as it is only 6 Weight Watchers Points, 242 calories. Give it a try, it is so good!

  • 8 Chicken Thighs – skinless
  • 1/2 cup Red Wine Vinegar
  • I cup Fat-Free Chicken Broth – divided (check for gluten-free if needed)
  • 1 tbsp Honey
  • 1 tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 1 tsp Butter
  • 1 large Shallot – thinly sliced (3/4 cup)
  • 2 cloves Garlic – thinly sliced
  • 1/2 cup Apple Juice
  • 2 tbsp Light Sour Cream

Season chicken with salt & pepper

In a medium saucepan, combine vinegar, honey, 3/4 cup chicken broth & tomato paste

Boil for about 5 minutes until it reduces down to 3/4 cup & remove from the heat

In a large skillet, melt butter over a medium-low heat & add the chicken. Cook on both sides until brown, about 6-8 minutes. Remove & put in the saucepan with the sauce

Add the shallots & garlic to the skillet & cook on low until soft, about 5 minutes

Add the chicken & sauce into the skillet, add the apple juice, the remaining broth, salt & pepper. Cover & simmer for 20 minutes, until chicken is fully cooked

Remove the chicken, stir in the sour cream. Boil a few minutes, then return the chicken to the sauce & serve

Chicken Thighs with Red Wine Vinegar Sauce

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

