Tipsy Laird Trifle


This traditional Scottish trifle was the dessert I made for our Burn’s Night feast this year. We had Haggis, tatties & neeps & then Tipsy Laird Trifle (without the tipsy part!)

It was really good, but if you are doing a big trifle like I did (8 layers) Then you will need more custard, cream & rasperries

  • 300g Pound Cake/Sponge Cake – halved & cut into thick slices
  • 300g Fresh Raspberries (if using frozen, defrost thoroughly)
  • 2 cups Thick, Ready-Made Custard
  • 2 cups Whipping Cream – softly whipped
  • Handful Flaked Almonds – toasted

Line the bottom of the cake with cake slices

Reserve a few rasperries for decoration & layer the remaining over the cake

Spoon over the custard

Finish with a thick layer of whipped cream & decorate with rasperries & almond flakes

Tipsy Laird Trifle

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Desserts, From Around the World, Quick & Easy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

