Indian Pilau Rice


For dinner tonight I made Pilau Rice with Chicken Korma & Cucumber Raita with Poppadums. It was so yummy, but hard work, especially with kids under my feet. We love curry in our home, & pilau rice just adds a little bit more to the flavours as you eat

One thing that works well for me when I have a lot of spices to put into a dish is to measure everything out into small bowls so that I can just pour them in when needed instead of having to measure it out when it is needed

  • 1 1/4 cups Basmati Rice – rinsed well
  • 1 small Onion – finely chopped
  • 1 clove Garlic – crushed
  • 2 tbsp Vegetable Oil
  • 1 tsp Fennel Seeds
  • 1 tbsp Sesame Seeds
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Turmeric
  • 1 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 2 Whole Cloves
  • 4 Cardamom Pods – lightly crushed
  • 5 Black Peppercorns
  • 450ml Chicken Stock (check for gluten-free if needed)
  • 1 tbsp Ground Almonds

Soak the rice in water for 30 minutes

Heat oil in a saucepan, add onions & garlic & gently fry for 5-6 minutes, until softened

Stir in fennel, sesame seeds, turmeric, cumin, salt, cloves, cardamom pods & peppercorns & fry for about 1 minute. Drain the rice well, add to the saucepan & stir fry for a further 3 minutes

Pour on the chicken stock & bring to the boil. Cover & reduce the heat to very low & simmer gently for 20 minutes, without removing the lid, until all the liquid has been absorbed (NOTE: I pour everything into my rice cooker before adding the chicken stock & finish it off in there)

Remove from the heat & allow to stand for 2-3 minutes. Fork up the rice & stir in the ground almonds

Indian Pilau Rice

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in From Around the World, Gluten-Free, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

