Sweet & Sour Chicken (baked)


I am a HUGE sweet & sour fan, but my husband is not, so usually I stay clear of making anything sweet & sour. This is was an exception, there are days that I just long for sweet & sour chicken, pork, beef, shrimp – it really doesn’t matter what it is as long as it tastes good!

This was a delicious dish that I found through Pinterest, & I will be making it over & over again, sorry James!

  • 3-4 Chicken Breasts – skinless & boneless
  • 1 cup Corn Starch (Corn Flour)
  • 2 Eggs – beaten
  • 1/4 cup Canola Oil (or any other vegetable oil)
  • 3/4 cup Sugar
  • 4 tbsp Tomato Ketchup
  • 1/2 cup White Vinegar
  • 1 tbsp Soy Sauce (check gluten-free if needed)
  • 1 tsp Garlic Salt

Preheat oven to 325°F/170°C/Gas Mark 3

Rinse chicken in water & cut into cubes. Season with salt & pepper

Dip chicken in corn starch to coat, then dip into eggs

Heat oil in a large skillet & cook the chicken until browned, but not cooked through

Transfer the chicken into a greased 9 x 13″ baking dish

In a small bowl, whisk together sugar, ketcup, vinegar, soy sauce & garlic salt & pour evenly over the chicken

Bake for 1 hour, turning the chicken every 15 minutes

Sweet & Sour Chicken (baked)

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Chicken, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet & Sour Chicken (baked)

  1. Chantal says:

    This does sound yummy. I think I’ll give it a go next week:) Thanks Rachel!

Leave a Reply

