Rice Cooker Teriyaki Chicken & Rice


Well, here’s one I have never even thought of before, cooking an entire meal in your rice cooker!

For days like today when I have been on the go all day & still haven’t cleaned up the dishes from last night’s meal (which incidentily I did not have to cook, or even worry about, thanks to my wonderful husband), it is nice to be able to throw some ingredients into the rice cooker & have it ready in 20 minutes, give or take

I am also re-vamping my recipe book especially for my husband, as he says he can never find what he is looking for in it. I will post that another day when I am finished

Back to the matter in hand…..I found this recipe via Pinterest on While He Was Napping & thought that as I had all ingredients on hand & not much time to do anything else we would give it a go. It was pretty good….eventually! I tried it with brown rice to start with & added some frozen peas, but after an hour of cooking the rice cooker was done, but the rice was still hard. I gave it another go, this time with white rice & omitted the peas, to be added later. This time it worked well. Not sure what the original problem was, but maybe I will find out next time!

  •  3 Chicken Breasts – cooked & chopped
  • 1 1/2 cups Rice – uncooked
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Soy Sauce (check gluten-free if needed)
  • 1/4 cup Water
  • 3 tbsp Ketchup
  • 2 cups Water

In a bowl/measuring jug, whisk together brown sugar, soy sauce, 1/4 cup water & ketchup & set aside

Add rice to the rice cooker bowl, add the sauce & the extra 2 cups of water

Add the chicken & set your rice cooker to cook

NOTE: For every cup of rice in your rice cooker you need 2 cups of liquid

Rice Cooker Teriyaki Chicken & Rice

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes, Quick & Easy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

