Sea Monster Slime – Pirate Party


This year, 2013, will be the start of another section to my blog. I will be adding some extra things like crafts & experiments etc. For those who love the food aspect, do not be discouraged, it will still be the main focus, but I will add some of the little extras for anyone who may be interested.

It is getting close to birthday party time in our home. Because the kid’s birthdays are 15 days apart & Anwyn is really still too young to know what she wants for a party, we are doing another joint party

Rhys decided a long time ago that he wanted to have a pirate party & as he has surprisingly stuck with the idea I thought that I should start doing some planning. I am surprised at how into this birthday party I am getting. I am not really all that creative, but am really enjoying it

I will be posting lots to do with this party & will be attempting a feat of a cake if the kids get their own way too! Stay tuned for lots of food & other pirate party ideas that I will be implementing

I made some Monster Slime with the kids a while back & they have so much fun playing with it, so I decided that we would package some ‘Sea Monster Slime’ up for the loot bags. It is really easy to make & I even made labels to go on the lids

  • 1 tsp Borax Powder
  • 1 1/2 cups Water – divided
  • 1/2 cup ‘Elmer’s’ Glue – I used the clear glue
  • Food Colouring – I used blue
  • Glitter

In a small bowl, add 1 cup water & 1 tsp Borax. Mix until dissolved & set aside

Pour glue into a medium bowl & add 1/2 cup water

Add approximately 4 drops of food colouring to the glue mixture

Stir it a little & add as much glitter as you want

Now add the borax mixture & watch it begin to solidify

Mix it up with your hands – the more the better

Pour out the excess water & knead until it becomes dry & firm

I used 6 (2oz) containers to put it in & added labels to the lid with a blob of hot glue!

Sea Monster Slime Labels

Sea Monster Slime

The Finished Product

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

