Meal Planning


Each week on a Sunday evening I sit down with paper & pen in hand & attempt to write my meal list for the week ahead. Some weeks it is harder than others to get inspiration & asking my husband isn’t always fruitful!

Each week I try to have a couple of ‘store cupboard’ meals planned that don’t need any fresh ingredients. They are what I like to call my throw away meals – for when something comes up, like going out for dinner unexpectantly or having left overs.

I do like to try & choose one new meal a week that I haven’t made before to change things up.

I had noticed recently that we seemed to be having the same meals quite soon after each other, so I am now recording every meal on my google calendar so they are not duplicated too soon.

Just to give you an idea of a week of meals in our home, here is my list for the next week:

One thing that I definately don’t do & would strongly advise against doing is assigning certain meals to specific days. From my experience, this does not work! I always found that each day I would have no desire to cook that meal, wouldn’t feel like eating that food or didn’t have time to cook that dish! Just having my list of meals works really well for me as I get to choose from my list each day what I want to make.

Once my list is written, I copy it onto a white board that is attached to my fridge, that way as each meal is made, it can be rubbed off.

I hope this helps you a little as you plan your meals.

Happy meal planning!

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

