Plum Jam


My mum makes this jam, & I love to eat it on hot buttered crumpets!

This is the first time making jam all by myself & I think it went pretty well for a first go. I don’t know why, but I decided that I wanted to make some jam, it was pretty easy although taking the jars out the boiling water  & transferring the jam into the jars proved tricky as I didn’t have the necessary tools with which to do it safely. I improvised & didn’t get burned in the process, so I would say that it was a success all in all.

The recipe makes 3 x 500 ml jars & tastes divine. Happy jamming!

  • 3lb Plums
  • 3/4 pint Water
  • 3 lb Preserving Sugar
  • Knob of Butter

Place the whole plums & water in a preserving pan & simmer gently for about minutes, until the friut is really soft &  the contents of the pan are well reduced

Add the sugar over a low heat, stirring until dissolved

DO NOT ALLOW TO BOIL

Add the knob of butter, then increase the heat & bring to a full rolling boil

Boil for about 10 minutes (mine had to boil for about 30 minutes)

Remove from the heat, & test for a set. If setting point has been reached, use a slotted spoon to remove the stones & any scum from the surface of the jam

Pot & cover in the usual way

For anyone not knowing how to pot jam, here is a quick note of how :

You want the jars & lids to be sterilized & hot so as to create a vaccum & tight seal. I boiled my jars & lids in a big pot for about 10 minutes & then while they were still hot, but dry, poured jam to the neck of the jar & then placed the lid on, tightened it & then allowed the jar & jam to cool. Once cooled, the lid should be depressed, just like the jars you buy from a shop

Plum Jam

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Condiments, Fruits, Gluten-Free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

