Banana Chocolate Cupcakes


I just made these today for dessert tomorrow & a couple to take to a friend who just had her beautiful baby girl. I couldn’t taste the banana really, but my husband said he could, maybe it is too subtle for me!

They are really easy to make & pretty fast too. I found that I could make 18 cupcakes & the icing was JUST enough. I got the recipe from JoyofBaking & it is very delicious. Enjoy

  • 1 cup (130 g) Flour
  • 1 cup (200 g) Sugar
  • 1/3 cup Cocoa Powder
  • 3/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 3/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 large Egg
  • 1/2 cup Ripe Banana – mashed
  • 1/2 cup (120 ml) Warm Water
  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) Milk
  • 1/4 cup (60 ml) Canola/Corn/Vegetable Oil
  • 3/4 tsp Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C/Gas Mark 4 & line muffin tins with cupcake cases

In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients

In another bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients. Once mixed together, add to the dry ingredients & whisk until combined (the batter will be rather thin)

Fill the cases to 3/4 full & bake for 20 minutes in the middle of the oven

Cool on a wire rack & frost with chocolate fudge frosting

Chocolate Fudge Frosting

  • 3 oz Unsweetened Chocolate – melted & cooled
  • 1/2 cup (113 g) Butter – room temperature
  • 1 cup (120 g) Icing Sugar – sifted
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract

Beat the butter until smooth & creamy, add the sugar & beat until light & fluffy. Beat in the vanilla

Add the chocolate & beat on a low speed until incorporated. Increase the speed to medium-high & beat until the frosting is smooth & glossy

Banana Chocolate Cupcakes

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Banana Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Rachel, these look so delish! I love the combo of banana and choc and your piping is so fancy!

Leave a Reply

