Buttermilk Pancakes


I usually make pancakes from a mix in the mornings for pure ease, but after making the cornbread the other day I had way too much left over buttermilk. I decided that I needed to find a good recipe to use up the remaining buttermilk & found this one on Allrecipes.

I made it this morning as the original recipe says for 12 servings as the buttermilk needed to be used up, & ended up freezing 3/4 of it. I have scaled down the recipe for on here to be more of a managable size, unless of course your kids can eat 34 pancakes for breakfast!

All the pancakes that I made were eaten before I remembered to take a picture, so I will just have to add that later for you.

  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 cup Milk
  • 1 generous tbsp Butter – melted
  • 1 cup Buttermilk
  • 1 cup All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Baking Soda
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 tbsp Sugar

In a large bowl, mix together the egg, milk, butter & buttermilk

In another bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, soda, salt & sugar. Stir into the wet ingridients until just combined. DO NOT OVER STIR. It is okay to leave little pockets of flour

Heat a large skillet over medium heat, pour batter onto the hot surface & cook until bubbles appear on the surface. Flip & cook the remaining side

Freeze any left over mix & the pancakes are just as good as before freezing!

Buttermilk Pancakes

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Freezer Meals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Pingback: Pancakes | intheiversonkitchen

Leave a Reply

