Basil, Roasted Peppers & Monterey Jack Cornbread


I made this for a change from the norm to find out that it wasn’t just the taste of cornbread that my husband doesn’t like, but the texture. Zero points for me on that one!

It was very delicious, but after 2 huge pieces I was done, so 2 lucky friends became the recipients of my creation

  • 1/2 cup Unsalted Butter – chilled & cubed
  • 1 cup Onion – chopped
  • 1 3/4 cups Cornmeal
  • 1 1/4 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/4 cup White Sugar
  • 1 tbsp Baking Powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp Salt
  •  1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 cups Buttermilk
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups Monterey Jack Cheese – grated
  • 1 1/3 cups frozen Corn Kernals – thawed & drained
  • 2 oz Roasted Marinated Red Peppers – drained & chopped
  • 1/2 cup Fresh Basil – chopped

Preheat oven to 400°F/200°C/Gas Mark 6 & butter a 9×9 baking pan

Melt 1 tbsp butter in a medium skillet over medium-low heat. Add onion & saute until tender, approximately 10 minutes, & set aside to cool

Mix cornmeal with flour, baking powder, sugar, salt & baking soda in a large bowl. Add 7 tbsp butter & rub with fingertips until the mixture resembles coarse meal

Whisk the buttermilk & eggs in a medium bowl & add to the dry ingredients. Stir until blended

Mix in the cheese, corn, peppers, basil & onion & transfer into the prepared pan. Bake for approximately 40 minutes

Cool in pan for 20 minutes, then cut into squares

Basil, Roasted Peppers & Monterey Jack Cornbread

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Bread, Side Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

