Roasting Chestnuts


For 2 of my Christmas dinner recipes this year I am using roast chestnuts. This is the first time that I have roasted chestnuts & I have to say that it was quite successful!

In selecting your chestnuts, pick the ones that are hard, heavy, shiny and rich brown in color. Avoid buying rotted chestnuts, those that smell bad, are soft & have holes

Make sure that you make an X cut on its side or prick with a fork so that it will not explode. The cuts will allow the steam to break out

Preheat the oven to 425°F/220°C/Gas Mark 7

Place cleaned chestnuts in a baking pan or on a cookie tray with cut sides upwards & place in the oven for 15-25 minutes, until the chestnuts are tender

When cool enough to handle, peel the chestnuts, ensuring that you remove the inner skins as well as the shells

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Gluten-Free, Kitchen Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

