Chicken & Shrimp Penne


The original recipe for this dish comes from a Company’s Coming Cookbook called ‘Simple Suppers’. I haven’t changed it all that much but have tweeked it to our family & my husband loves the dish. It is apparantly his favourite pasta dish!

  • 250 gms Penne Pasta
  • 2 Chicken Breasts – skinless & boneless, cut crosswise into slices
  • 2 tsp Olive Oil
  • 2 Garlic Cloves – minced
  • 1/4 cup Apple Juice
  • 1 13 1/2 oz can Evaporated Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/2 lb Cooked Shrimp – thawed
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan Cheese – freshly grated
  • 20 Cherry Tomatoes – halved

Cook the pasta in boiling salted water for 8-10 minutes (or follow packet instructions). Drain, return to the same pan & cover to keep warm. Add a teaspoon of olive oil to the pasta & stir it up, to stop it sticking together

Heat the oil on a meduim heat in a large frying pan. Add the chicken & garlic & cook for 5-10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add to the pasta, toss & cover

Add apple juice to the same frying pan. Heat & stir, scraping any brown bits from the bottom of the pan. Bring to a boil & reduce the heat to medium. Boil gently for 1 minute

Add the evaporated milk, salt & cayenne pepper. Stir & boil gently for 5 minutes, stirring often

Add the remaining ingredients. Heat & stir for about 3 minutes until the tomatoes are getting soft. Add to the pasta mixture & toss

Serve with garlic bread or a green salad

Chicken Shrimp Penne

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Main Dishes, Quick & Easy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken & Shrimp Penne

  1. I’m a long time watcher and I just assumed I’d drop by and say hi for the 1st time. I actually appreciate your posts. Thanks

Leave a Reply

