Butter Chicken


This dish will serve about 6 people & is fast becoming a family favourite. I have tweeked the recipe a bit to give a thicker sauce & to be less creamy as I found it too much, but now it is a looked forward to meal, especially when accompanied with homemade naan bread & pappadums!

I am trying out whether or not this dish can be frozen as I always have too much sauce left after we have eaten. I will post an update when I use the sauce that I froze after last night’s dinner to let you know

UPDATE: It is good after freezing too!

  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1 Onion – minced
  • 1 tbsp Garlic – minced
  • 1 can Tomato Sauce (can use condensed tomato soup also)
  • 2 cups Heavy Cream (I use whipping cream)
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 tsp Garam Masala
  • 1 1/2 lb skinless, boneless Chicken Breast – cut into bite-sized chunks
  • 2 tsp Vegetable Oil
  • 2 tbsp Tandoori Masala
  • 2 tbsp Corn Starch – adjust to your desired thickness

Melt a few tablespoons of butter in a pan over a medium heat. Stir in the onion & garlic & cook slowly until the onion caramelises to a dark brown, about 15 minutes

Meanwhile, melt the remaining butter in a saucepan over a medium-high heat along with the tomato sauce, heavy cream, salt, cayenne pepper, garam masala & corn starch. Whisk it all together to take any lumps out

Bring to a simmer, then reduce the heat to a medium-low; cover, & simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then stir in the onions

While the sauce is simmering, toss the cut chicken in vegetable oil & tandoori masala & fry in a pan until cooked

Add the chicken to the sauce & simmer for 5 minutes before serving

Butter Chicken

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, Freezer Meals, From Around the World, Gluten-Free, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

