Lerren Perry’s Fish Pie


My sister in law gave me this recipe for fish pie & so for our Sunday dinner, this evening, we decided to try it out

I used Sole & Salmon as that was the only fish I had in the freezer. I don’t think I would use Salmon again as the taste was so strong it overpowered the Sole

I couldn’t find a Parsely Sauce mix anywhere here, & so had to make it from scratch. From my research into making the sauce I found that it is an English thing, not really found anywhere else

  • Parsley Sauce Mix
  • Haddock or Cod – skinless & boneless, frozen
  • 5-6 Potatoes
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Cheese – grated
  • Peas & Sweetcorn or other vegetables e.g. brocolli
  • Salt & Pepper

Preheat oven to 375°F/190°C/Gas Mark 4

Place the frozen fish on a baking tray & sprinkle with italian seasoning. Cover with foil & bake for around 25 mins until soft & flakes easily

Peel and cut potatoes and cook. Mash up the potatoes & set aside covered

When the fish is cooked, make the parsley sauce as instructed on the packet. My sauce recipe is under the picture of the finished product

Add fish sweetcorn, peas and parsley sauce to a pirex dish. Put mash on top, add grated cheese, then sprinkle with salt pepper and oregano

Place back in the oven for 10-15 mins or until the cheese has melted, then take out, cool down and eat!!

Parsley Sauce

Fish Pie 2

  • 2 tbsp Flour
  • 1 tbsp Butter – NOT Margarine
  • 1 clove Garlic – crushed & chopped
  • 2 tbsp Fresh Parsley – finely chopped
  • 1 cup Full Cream Milk

Melt the butter on a low heat, add the garlic & cook for 3 minutes

Add the flour, salt & pepper & stir well

Add the milk slowly while stirring. It should thicken into a creamy sauce

Remove from the heat & add the parsley

Pour over the fish

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

