Chorizo & Gorgonzola Pizza


This was a delicious friday night, date night dinner. Unfortunately it had all gone before I remembered that I hadn’t taken a picture of it. Don’t worry, next time my husband makes it I will remember to snap a few shots!

  • Pizza Dough
  • Gorgonzola Cheese
  • Chorizo
  • 1 can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1 Shallot
  • Dried Basil
  • Olive Oil

I make my pizza dough in the bread maker because I find that I really don’t have time to make it by hand. I am also lucky to have a fantastic pizza dough recipe that came with the bread maker. You can always cheat & buy the dough or use a flat bread or naan instead

My husband makes his own pizza sauce by using the diced tomatoes (strain off most of the juice) a dash of Olive Oil (as little or as much as you want in the sauce) & dried basil. In a saucepan add the tomatoes and a little juice. Heat them over a medium-high heat & crush them slightly against the side of the pan. Add the oil & basil & mix together. Keep on a low heat, stirring occasionally

Spread the sauce over the base of the pizza, it is supposed to be chunky as we find it adds so much more texture & flavour to the pizza

Sprinkle over the diced shallots & crumble the gorgonzola and sprinkle over. Be careful not to use too much cheese as it will take away from all the other flavours

Finally add the chorizo & place in the oven until the cheese has melted & the base is cooked

Brush a little olive oil on the pizza crust & serve

Chorizo & Gorgonzola Pizza

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

