Quiche


So, I have always had problems making pastry. My Mum has tried to teach me on many occasions how to make it properly, but I can never seem to do it right, so I bought pastry all the time. The other week, I decided that I would not buy it anymore, but would try my hand again at making it

I DID IT! I was so proud of myself! The recipe I used was given to me, not sure who by, but after many tries, it worked for me. Here it is:

  • 5 cups Flour
  • 2 tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1lb Lard
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tbsp White Vinegar
  • 3/4 cup COLD Water

Cut lard into flour, salt, baking powder & baking soda

Stir liquid ingredients with a fork

Add to dry ingredients & stir until just combined

Knead a few time

Refrigerate, tightly wrapped

Roll at your convenience (makes several crusts)

For the quiche, I just cut up mushrooms, bacon, tomatoes & onions, mixed together eggs, milk & salt & pepper & grated cheese & poured them all into the pie shell. I cooked it at 350°F/180°C/Gas Mark 4 until the egg was cooked

Quiche 1

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Main Dishes, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

