Sugar Cookies


The best ever sugar cookie recipe I have used. I try to give away half the dough as it makes so many cookies & I don’t want to get fatter from eating them all! This time I ended up having to make all the cookies & so far they are still in the cupboard as I am determined not to eat them all. Anyone want to come round for cookies & milk???

  • 1 1/2 cups Butter – softened
  • 2 cups White Sugar
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 5 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Salt

In a large bowl, cream together butter & sugar until smooth

Beat in the eggs & vanilla & stir in flour, baking powder & salt. I find that I need to get my hands dirty at this point

Cover & chill dough for at least 1 hour (or overnight)

Preheat oven to 400°F/200°C/Gas Mark 6

Roll out dough on a floured surface 1/4 – 1/2″ thick & cut into shapes

Place 1″ apart on an ungreased cookie sheet & bake for 6-8 minutes. To check the cookies are done, lift them up & look at the bottom. The bottom of each cookie should be a golden brown

Cool completely before icing

Sugar Cookies

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

