Irish Chicken & Dumplings


I found this recipe on Allrecipes by clairellen and wanted to give it a try. I halved the recipe as there are only 3 of us to eat in our home. It was delicious and our 2 year old loved it and asked for more! I did have one complaint about it though, there was not enough liquid as the dumplings used up most of it

  • 2 cans Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 3 cups Water
  • 1 cup Celery, chopped
  • 2 Onions, quartered
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Poultry Seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Black Pepper
  • 4 skinless, boneless Chicken Breasts
  • 5 carrots, sliced
  • 4 potatoes, quartered (I used little potatoes, so used more than 4)
  • 3 cups Bisquick
  • 1 1/3 cups Milk

In a large heavy pot, combine soup, water, chicken, celery, onion, salt, poultry seasoning and pepper. Cover and cook on low for 1 1/2 hours

Add potatoes and carrots. Cover and cook for a further 30 minutes

Remove the chicken and shred it. Return it to the pot and add peas. Cook for a further 5 minutes

Mix Bisquick and milk until a soft dough forms. Drop a tablespoonful at a time into the Boiling stew. Simmer covered for 10 minutes, uncover and simmer for a further 10 minutes

Irish Chicken & Dumplings

About intheiversonkitchen

My husband, James & I have been married since 2007 & have 4 little ones, Rhys, Anwyn, Llewelyn & Aled. I love to cook & love to try new dishes, so decided to share with the world what happens in my kitchen & in other areas of my home. I hope you enjoy! Please feel free to make comments or suggestions, I welcome them all!
This entry was posted in Chicken, From Around the World, Main Dishes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

